Friday, 6 December 2019

History of Akuku-Toru Local Government of Rivers State

History of the creation of Akulga by Nimifaa Gilbert

Akuku-Toru Local Government Area as a child of necessity and circumstance came into existence with the creation of Local Governments nation-wide by former Head of State; General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida's regime on the 29th of September 1991.
It was carved out of the former Degema Local Government Area with Abonnema as its headquarters.

Akuku-Toru Local Government Area is typically riverine with a land of 4,350 square kilometers. It is bounded on the North by Degema Local Government Area, on the South by the Atlantic Ocean, on the East by the Asari-Toru Local Government Area and on the West by Nembe Local Government Area in Bayelsa.

The Local Government Area consist of seven major Communities and other smaller communities and fishing settlements. The major communities are: Abonnema, Obonoma, Kula, Idama, Abissa, Soku and Elem-Sangama. The other communities and fishing settlements includes: Abaji Okolo, Imoama, Leleama, Ibiapuama, Belema, Dere-ama, Opukiri, Lelekiri and Angalaobio among others.

Abonnema, the headquarters of the Local Government Area had one time been a Seaport that deals in Palm produce exports. The Local Government Area is blessed with abundant oil and gas reserves. Kula, Idama and Soku have network of oil pipelines leading to the multimillion naira gas gathering plant at Soku and Belema flow station where gas is supplied to the liquefied Natural Gas Project at Bonny.

This Local Government Area is also centrally positioned and easily accessible to all the neighbouring Local Government Area viz; Bonny, Degema, Asari-toru and Abua/Odual.
Akuku-toru Local Government has a population of over 450,000.

By Asatibo Igbigi fa Balaa & Light House - Briggs